The ABC’s of Anxiety Disorders

"Anxiety disorders" is a broad term; it encompasses six psychiatric (as in real, medical) disorders. Although the symptoms of each anxiety disorder vary in different people, what they have in common is they all provoke extreme fear or worry that interferes with a normal lifestyle.

Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD): Excessive uncontrollable worry about everyday issues, including school, work, money, friends and health

Social Anxiety Disorder (SAD) - (also called Social Phobia): Avoidance of everyday social situations due to extreme anxiety about being judged by others or behaving in a way that might cause embarrassment or ridicule

Panic Disorder: Severe attacks of terror, which may make an individual feel like they are having a heart attack or is going crazy, for no apparent reason

Specific Phobias: Intense fear of an object, place or situation, such as riding in elevators, driving on highways or heights, that leads to an avoidance of the object or situation; an individual with a specific phobia will typically recognize that their fear is irrational and inappropriate for the circumstance

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): Persistent, recurring thoughts (obsessions) that reflect exaggerated anxiety or fears and manifest as repetitive behaviors or rituals (compulsions); for example, the uncontrollable need to scrub ones hands repeatedly or the insistence on absolute neatness and order

Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD): Several months or years after a traumatic life experience, avoidance, detachment, difficulty sleeping and concentrating, and the need to relive the traumatic event

ABC des troubles anxieux
Le terme « troubles anxieux » est très vaste. Il englobe six troubles psychiatriques (comme dans réels problèmes médicaux). Bien que les symptômes de chaque trouble anxieux varient d’une personne à l’autre, ils ont en commun de provoquer des craintes extrêmes ou des soucis qui perturbent un style de vie normal.

Trouble d’anxiété généralisée (TAG) : Inquiétude excessive et chronique concernant des sujets quotidiens comme les études, le travail, l’argent, les amis et la santé.

Le trouble d'anxiété sociale (TAS) – (aussi appelé phobie sociale) : Évitement de situations sociales courantes en raison d’une crainte extrême du jugement des autres ou comportement qui risque de causer l’embarras ou le ridicule.

Le trouble panique (TP) : Crises de peur intenses qui surgissent de nulle part et qui peuvent amener une personne à croire qu’elle est victime d’une crise cardiaque ou qu’elle sombre dans la folie.

Phobies spécifiques : Peur intense d’un objet, d’un endroit ou d’une situation, comme monter dans un ascenseur, conduire sur l’autoroute ou les hauteurs, qui mène à l’évitement de l’objet ou de la situation en question. Une personne avec une phobie spécifique reconnaîtra généralement que sa peur est irrationnelle et inappropriée compte tenu des circonstances.

Trouble obsessionnel compulsif (TOC) : Pensées persistantes et récurrentes (obsessions) qui reflètent une angoisse ou peur exagérée et qui se manifestent par des comportements répétitifs ou rituels (compulsions), par exemple, besoin déraisonnable de se brosser les mains à répétition ou insistance sur l’ordre et la propreté absolus.

Trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT) : Plusieurs mois ou années après une expérience traumatisante, évitement, détachement, difficulté à dormir et à se concentrer et besoin de revivre les événements traumatisants.